Music teacher identity development

Our goal is to address the preservice music teacher’s transformation from student to teacher through program components and experiences. Through research and collaboration, we seek a deeper understanding of the complexities of the interactions of multiple identities. Focusing on the self as a teacher, we seek to empower our students and encourage their growth as professional music educators. Learn more about this ASPA by listening to the following audio podcast:

Facilitators:

Jason Gossett, West Virginia University (jason.gossett@mail.wvu.edu)
Becky Marsh, Butler University (mailto:bmarsh1@butler.edu)

Group Membership

Register or login to your account on this site to add this group to your SMTE profile.

WORKING SESSION MINUTES

ASPA meeting March 23, 2018

Our meeting at the National Conference for Research and Teacher Education in Atlanta will be held on Friday, March 23 at 1:00 PM in Augusta 3. Please join us to plan future collaborative projects!

if you can’t attend, please email Cindy Wagoner at wagonerc@ecu.edu for notes and inclusion in our activities!

NAfME Research 2018 - Atlanta
  1. The schedule for the conference in Atlanta has been rolled out. Congratulations to all who are presenting during the conference. Below are some highlights related to the Music Teacher Identity ASPA.
    Thursday, March 22, 2018

    8:30 – 8:55 Augusta 1 “Outsider Within”: Dana’s Story

    Tami Draves, University of North Carolina Greensboro

    10:30 – 10:55 Augusta 1 “One Leg In One, and One Leg in the Other”: The Role-identities of Two Vernacular Musicians as Music Educators

    Mark Adams, University of Delaware

    10:30 – noon Augusta 3 SRIG Session

        Gender and Sexuality: Negotiating Gay Identity And Teacher Identity In The Choral Classroom.

    Nicholas McBride, The College of New Jersey

        Transvocality and Transgender Identity Formation in the Context of Choral Education

    Jude Rosas-Ruelas, University of Utah

    4:00 – 5:30 Poster Session I

         A Social-cognitive Theoretical Framework for Examining Music Teacher Identity

    Edward McClellan, Loyola University New Orleans

    Friday, March 23, 2018

    9-9:55 AM Diversity and Inclusion Panel C, Chastain G/H

    Strategic essentialism must work in solidarity with post-foundational concepts of self, whereby identity, art, and curriculum are understood as intersectional, hybrid, and relational.

    Randall Allsup, Teachers College, Columbia University

    1 – 2:25 Augusta 3 ASPA Meeting :Music teacher identity development

    Help us plan for the next year as we continue our work from SMTE, discuss the acceptance rates for our work, and discuss moving forward and bridging identity research across ASPAs in deeper, meaningful ways!

    3:30 – 3:55 Augusta 3 Music Teacher Identity Development: A Longitudinal Study

    Kristen Pellegrino, University of Texas at San Antonio; Sean Powell, University of North Texas;        Cindy Wagoner, East Carolina University; Erik Johnson, Colorado State University

    3:00 – 3:55 Chastain G/H; Diversity and Inclusion Panel D  Philosophical and pedagogical considerations enhance the visibility of native American history, culture, and identity in music education.

    Brigetta Miller, Lawrence University

    “Choir is for Girls”: Intersectional Mixed Methods Perspectives on Adolescent Gender Identity, Singing Interest, and Choral Music Participation4:00 – 5:30 PM Poster II Overlook & Chastain 2

    Briana Nannen, Marshall University

    The Evolution of Professional Music Teacher Identity: A Comparison of String Project Alumni within Teaching Career Cycles

    Elizabeth Reed, University of South Carolina

    Saturday, March 24, 2018

    8:30-8:55 Chastain D A Foot in Both Worlds: Navigating the Landscapes of Public School Post-doctorate, An Auto-ethnography

    Jennifer Greene, Fayetteville-Manlius HS; Heather Cote, Westwood HS; Matt Koperniak, Riverwatch MS; Laura Stanley, Brookwood HS

    9:00 – 9:55 SMTE Summary Session, Chastain G/H

    11:00 – 12:30 Poster Session III Overlook & Chastain 2

    The Role of Differing Student Teaching Placement Structures in Preservice Music Teacher Occupational Identity Development

    Sandy Goldie, Virginia Commonwealth University

    Musician, Teacher, Researcher, and Mentor: Identity Development for Music Education Doctoral Students

    Alden Snell II, Eastman School of Music; Elizabeth Bucura, Eastman School of Music

SMTE 2015 – Action Plan

The following research projects are in the planning stages:

  • Music teacher identity as marginalized within the music profession, Project leader TBA
    • Presentation proposal planned for NAfME
  • Emergent frameworks for multiple case studies (Meta-analysis) Project led by Kristen Pelligrino (Kristen.Pellegrino@utsa.edu)

    • Two groups working to present a cohesive look at frameworks for examining music teacher identity for NAfME conference
    • Future study: Synthesis of a framework
  • Multiple case studies using frameworks for understanding identity transformations
    • Metaphor, led by Cindy Wagoner (wagonerc@ecu.edu)
    • Mentoring, group leader TBA
    • Future study: Meta-analysis of case studies
  • Examination of resiliency in music teacher identity (Pelligrino)
  • Examination of artistry as a part of music teacher identity (Johnson)
  • ASPA planning meeting in March 2016, at NAfME in Atlanta
SMTE 2013

The MTS ASPA met in Greensboro and had a productive discussion about several project ideas to be discussed further in St. Louis in 2014.

SMTE 2017 - Action Plan
  1. Examination of Marginalized Identities: Led by Mark Adams.
  2. Proposal for Early, Middle, and Late Preservice Music Teacher Identity Pedagogical work. “?: Pedagogies of Identity: Early, middle, and late program best practice”  If this isn’t accepted, discuss possible publication work.

Future goals established for NAfME 2018

  1. Taking identity research in new directions. (New ideas and avenues to develop)
  2. Work toward research on marginalized identities in music education, including types of musicianship, educational, curricular, cultural or personal obstacles.
  3. A holistic view of identity: embracing how many different aspects of identity interact with the development of occupational identity.
NAfME 2014-St. Louis

The MTS ASPA met in St. Louis. Notes from the meeting follow.

Update of projects Databases

  • Searchable database still being developed to be more accessible to ASPA membership. This will soon become a collaborative effort where any person in the ASPA can contribute Research updates- projects and ideas. The database is currently housed under UNCG School of Music Theatre and Dance, Music Research Institute, Identity Database (Wagoner)

o   Undergraduate experiences designed to address 3 levels of teacher concerns (self, task, student)

  • (Haston) Creation of new database of successful/role model cooperating teachers (one-page guides/teaching-mentoring videos/webinars)
  • (Sandy Goldie)Relationship between performer identity and the level they end up teaching in schools
  • (Sandy Goldie) – student teacher placement study – (configuration and its impact on identity)
  • (Nancy Whitaker) Longitudinal study- identity construction, what is a EDTPA participant and how that impacts teacher efficacy- pre student teaching, during, and early career.

o   Rich Edwards- EDTPA students seem to handle the new assessment rigors better than the veteran teachers

  • (Isbell) The role of the college ensemble director in the socialization of future music teachers? CBDNA Ithaca College Conference on Instrumental Music Education is taking place June 29 – July 1, 2014
  • (Isbell), Update article in press

Discussion topics

  • Cooperating teachers are critical figures in the development of teacher identity.

o   Student teacher supervisor – cooperating teacher placement and relationships o   How are cooperating teachers socialized into their position as mentors

  • Pressure to be a performer and/or competition: influencing preservice instrumental teachers to move toward general music positions.
  • Course load and the implications for identity development
2012 NAfME Conference in St. Louis

The MTS ASPA met in St. Louis and had a productive discussion about the possibility of a book proposal. We envision a a Handbook of Music Teacher Socialization, with several parts–for cooperating teachers, for undergraduates, for music teacher educators, for pre-collegiate students, for veteran K12 mentors of K12 novices, for administrators and/or music supervisors. The book would be about practical applications of research, with possible online supplemental materials, and we would put out a call for chapter authors from each of these groups. If you have any ideas about this project, please contact Dan Isbell or Warren Haston (MTS ASPA co-facilitators). One useful resource being developed:

  • Michael Raiber, David Teachout, Warren Haston and Dan Isbell are compiling a list of events/activities for use in developing undergraduate music education students’ teacher identities. It will be a searchable database linked through this SMTE page.

Ongoing Goals & Projects

Ongoing Goals

  • Collect a cache of cases illuminating personal transformations
  • Identifying additional factors influencing and interacting with music teacher identity construction (cognitive complexity, gender, sexuality, ethnicity, socio-economics, developmental attributes of preservice teacher)
  • Continue investigating key themes, issues, models of research, and develop research agendas and action plans.

Ongoing Projects

Music Teacher Identity Research Database

Searchable database still being developed to be more accessible to ASPA membership. This will soon become a collaborative effort where any person in the ASPA can contribute Research updates- projects and ideas. The database is currently housed under UNCG School of Music Theatre and Dance, Music Research Institute, Identity Database (Wagoner)

Cooperating Teacher Resource Database

If you are interested in contributing to Warren Haston’s online Cooperating Teacher Resource Database (https://sites.google.com/site/cooperatingteacherresources/), please contact him directly at haston@hartford.edu. You may contribute print and/or digital media to this fantastic and growing collection of useful resources to aid cooperating teachers.

Members

Kristen Albert
West Chester University of PA 
kalbert@wcupa.edu

Chris Barber
Owasso, OK
chris.barber@owasso.k12.ok.us

Margaret Berg
University of Colorado-Boulder 
margaret.berg@colorado.edu

Wes Brewer
Roosevelt University 
wesley.brewer@me.com

Susan Bruenger
University of Texas – San Antonio 
susan.bruenger@utsa.edu

Carolyn Cruse
Michigan State University 
crusechoir@yahoo.com

Charlene Dell
University of Oklahoma 
cdell@ou.edu

Tami Draves
University of Arizona
tdraves@email.arizona.edu

Susan Conkling
Boston University 
drc@bu.edu

Rich Edwards
Ohio Wesleyan University
rdedward@owu.edu

Donna Emmanuel
University of North Texas
demmanuel@music.unt.edu

Don Ester
Ball State University
dester@bsu.edu

Sandy Goldie
University of Florida
sandygoldie1@gmail.com

Jason Gossett
Penn State University
jbg190@psu.edu

BettyAnne Gottlieb
Michigan State University 
gottli19@msu.edu

Jennifer Greene
Fayetteville-manilus Schools (NY)
jgreene@fmschools.org

David J. Greennagel
Virginia Commonwealth University 
djgreennagel@vcu.edu

Julie Hagen
Michigan State University 
hagenjul@msu.edu

Jan Harriott
University of Nebraska – Kearney 
harriottjm@unk.edu

Warren Haston
The Hartt School
 haston@hartford.edu

Daniel Hellman
Missouri State University 
DanielHellman@MissouriState.edu

Ryan Hourigan
Ball State University 
rmhourigan@bsu.edu

Greg Hurley
East Carolina University 
hurleyc@ecu.edu

Dan Isbell
Ithaca College 
disbell@ithaca.edu

Kenneth Jeffs
University of Missouri 
kcj7t4@mail.missouri.edu

Dan Johnson
University of North Carolina – Wilmington
 johnsond@uncw.edu

Erik Johnson
 domisol@aol.com

Nate Kruse Case
Western University 
nathan.kruse@case.edu

Roy Legette
University of Georgia 
rlegette@uga.edu

Carla Maltas
University of Central Missouri
maltas@ucmo.edu

Jeff Marlatt
Shenandoah University
 jmarlatt@su.edu

Lisa Martin
University of Colorado-Boulder 
lisa.martin@colorado.edu

Ed McClellan
Loyola University 
emcclell@loyno.edu

Abigail McHugh-Grifa
Eastman School of Music 
abigailmchugh@hotmail.com

Peter Miksza
Indiana University 
pmiksza@indiana.edu

Michael W. Moore
Bob Jones University 
mmoore@bju.edu

Steve Oare
Wichita State University 
steve.oare@wichita.edu

Valerie Peters
Université Laval 
valerie.peters@mus.ulaval.ca

Ken Phillips
Palm Beach Atlantic University
ken_phillips@pba.edu

Joe Piccirillo
NYC Public Schools 
jspiccirillo@gmail.com

Stephanie Prichard
University of Colorado 
stephanie.prichard@colorado.edu

Michael Raiber
Oklahoma City University 
maraiber@okcu.edu

 

Elizabeth Robbins
Georgia State University
elizabethdrobbins@yahoo.com

Heather Shouldice
Michigan State University
nelsonhe@msu.edu

Crystal Sieger
Case Western Reserve 
cas235@case.edu

Marcelyn Smale
St. Cloud State University 
smale@stcloudstate.edu

Stephanie Standerfer
Shenandoah University 
sstander@su.edu

Jennifer L. Stewart
University of North Carolina – Greensboro 
jlstewa7@uncg.edu

David Stringham
James Madison University 
stringda@jmu.edu

David Teachout
University of North Carolina – Greensboro 
djteacho@uncg.edu

Linda Thornton
Penn State University
lct12@psu.edu

Mary Wagner
James Madison University 
mscello@cox.net

Cindy Wagoner (ASPA Facilitator)
East Carolina University 
wagonerc@ecu.edu

Nancy Whitaker
University of Wisconsin-Parkside
whitaker@uwp.edu

John L. Whitener
University of Southern California 
whitener@usc.edu

Danielle Woolery
Texas Woman’s University
dwoolery@twu.edu